Fri. Aug 19th, 2022

On September 18, the first National Honor’s Society meeting of the year was held in the auditorium. With both returning and recently accepted members, the meeting lasted around twenty minutes. New officers were introduced: Grace Taylor (President), Kelly Pring/Kurtis Konrad (Vice-presidents), Emily Dawkins (Secretary), Alec Way (Treasurer), Juliana Denmark/Christin Kennedy (Historians) and Chase Perren (Parliamentarian), while the advisers set up a quick powerpoint.

The meeting mainly covered many of the changes coming to NHS this year, including an increase in required sponsored hours, required committee meetings, an added tutoring program and a new committee itself.

This year members must choose from five committees to participate in to receive their ten required NHS sponsored hours. Sunshine, headed by Chase Perren, is a new committee designed to promote the society as more of a “club,” with a familial vibe that promotes good will around the school. Members can also choose from Babysitting, Teacher Appreciation, Homecoming and Tutoring

Chase Perren, senior member and Parliamentarian, said, “My goal as head of the Sunshine committee is to promote a family vibe, make NHS have more meaning than just a once-monthly thing. We [the officers] really want people to be rewarded for the good stuff they do.”

Additionally , NHS has created a high school tutoring program that is open to all students on Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays in rooms 235 and 1206 during Lunch A. Each session will last thirty minutes and will earn members a half credit. All members must earn two of their required NHS sponsored hours through tutoring.

Committee meeting dates are held as followed: Babysitting (first Thursday of the month, B Lunch, Room 133), Sunshine (first Thursday of the month, B Lunch, Room 131), Tutoring (second Thursday of the month, B Lunch, Room 133), Teacher Appreciation (second Thursday of the month, B Lunch, Room 131), Homecoming (as needed with approval by Engdahl or Langlois – advisers).

The induction ceremony for new members will be held on October 1 at 6:30 p.m., and the next meeting is October 16 – with committee meeting dates held on various weekdays.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.