Men’s XC wins Cap-8


The men’s varsity cross country won Cap 8 Conference Championship on Tuesday, October 19 at the Wake Med Soccer Park.  Led by Coach Mark McLamb, the team had six All-Conference runners:  Christian Klute, Aaron Smith, Sam Sarakbi, Cory Fetterolf, Stephen Ryan, and Bilo Hoese.

Leesville came in first with 39 points.  Broughton was second with 40 points, followed by Millbrook with 85 points.

Justin Barnes, a senior, felt proud of the season’s outcome.  “This was my first year [2010], and I felt really overwhelmed because I made it to Cap 8.  I PR’ed (personal record) by a long shot with a 19:40.  The team is awesome, full of great people.  It’s been the highlight of my senior year.”

Klute, a senior, came in first for Leesville and placed second overall in the meet.  He and the team now plan to prepare for regionals and states.  “In preparation, I’m going to
the Cheesecake Factory for dinner, and we’re going to win absolutely.”

Sarakbi, a junior, finished third for the team and eighth overall at the meet.  “Yes, I’m going to regionals, and we’re going to win.  And then states.  We were so close to losing conference.  We beat Broughton by one point.  It was close.”

The regional meet will be held at Wake Med Soccer Park on Saturday, October 30.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.