The Force is with us in Jedi: Fallen Order

Cal Kestis on the planet “Zeffo” with BD-1 on his back. Fallen Order was released on November 15, 2019. (Photo courtesy of John Thornton)

Fans of video games heavily criticize specific, character-driven video game ideas– like Star Wars, Spiderman, and Batman. Over the years, video game advertisements changed because of the intolerance of microtransactions– a way for the developing company to gain extra money following a game’s release– and the need for customization. Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order (SWJFO) is among the games that fans were wary about, but the launch proved Star Wars fans wrong.

There are three main subjects that Respawn Entertainment– the developer of SWJFO– focuses on: story and characters, combat and movement, and graphics and exploration. 

Story and Characters

Jedi: Fallen Order is set 5 years after Emperor Palpatine’s Order 66. The game takes about 20 hours to complete. There are no unnecessary missions; SWJFO is a short game with more content instead of a long game with more fluff. The story gives players many puzzles to solve and the chance for the character’s droid to help them.

The player sees the main group of characters– Greez, Cere, Cal Kestis, and BD-1– become more of a group of friends rather than strangers. The cut-scenes give players the classic Star Wars comedy that all fans love. The main protagonist, Cal Kestis, finds a droid named BD-1 on his mission through the galaxy. At first, Cal is surprised that BD-1 jumps into crates and helps him with missions then Cal becomes more relaxed that he has a helper.

Combat and Movement

One of the most important parts of a Star Wars game involving Jedi are the lightsaber battles. Since Jedi: Fallen Order is a single-player game, it’s easier for developers to make unique animations for each attack. Each enemy that Cal faces have different fighting animations and tactics so players must know how to counter each one. 

Movement is really smooth– running, dodges, and jumping are all transitions that blend together in any combination. Jedi: Fallen Order also requires the player to parkour throughout levels, and later in the campaign, some aspects of moving are enhanced. The parkour featured in Fallen Order has a mixture of force powers and climbing. Cal’s magical abilities tie in with combat, and the game sets players up for easier fighting experiences. 

Graphics and Exploration

Lightsaber battles make the game even more beautiful. The setting of most lightsaber battles are dark places to put more emphasis on the lightsaber and fight itself. Small details make Jedi: Fallen Order a different kind of game for players. Proper physics are taken into account when Cal is traversing the land. 

Exploration is not an issue in SWJFO — players have the option of exploring 6 planets by the end of the game. Each planet has secrets, chests, and plenty of living creatures– plants, animals, and enemies– to add to the Databank. Most places in SWJFO cannot be reached without parkour. 

Easter eggs are planted throughout the game for true Star Wars fans. Some easter eggs are findable and others are implemented throughout the story as an experience for the player. 

Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order touches on six topics that are needed for an open-world single-player game and ties the topics together perfectly. The story, combat, and exploration of Fallen Order give players the feeling of being a true Jedi and what it means to become one.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.